Diego Van Looy and Petra Eggenschwiler are the winners of the Powerman Mallorca 2019

February 27, 2019 | Powerman | News

Petra Eggenschwiler and Diego Van Looy are the winners of the Powerman Mallorca 2019

Swiss Petra Eggenschwiler and Belgium Diego Van Looy are the winners of the 4th edition of the Ferrer Hotels Powerman Mallorca Powered by Felt. The race had perfect weather conditions and over 400 duathletes have enjoyed the competitions on the Classic distance (10km running, 60km cycling– no drafting allowed and 10km running) and on the Sprint distance (5km running, 30km cycling and 5km running). It’s been one of the earliest duathlon events of the European season. German brothers Bianca and Rico Bogen get the victory of the Sprint distance.

Ferrer Hotels Powerman Mallorca Powered by Felt has been an exciting competiton for 400 duathletes in a perfect sunny day in Can Picafort, Mallorca. Reigning Long Distance Duathlon World Champ Petra Eggenschwiler and Diego Van Looy grabbed convincing victories at the fourth edition of one of the earliest duathlon races in Europe. Swiss Petra Eggenschwiler lead the race and got a solid victory showing an impressive performance. First runner up was the Spanish Yéssica Pérez with a 4 minutes gap. Austrian Sigrid Herndler was finally third.

“It’s been amazing, the sun, the course… I felt really strong today and I’m happy to get in Mallorca the first victory of the year!” said Eggenschwiler.

In the male category, Belgium triathlete Daniel Van Looy starred a great performance to get a solid victory (2h39:41) overtaking a few rivals after the first leg. He lead the race till the second transition, and started the last run segment just 5” ahead of three times Duathlon World Champ Gael Le Bellec, who finished second. Third duathlete at the finish line was Michele Paonne, from Liechtenstein.

 “I’ve tried to follow the best runner in the first leg, then I pushed on the bike and I felt confidence I could win the race in the last 10km. Running here is so special, with nice views, the sea, also the incredible weather in February. I’m so happy!”, said Van Looy.

Two Young German brothers, Bianca and Rico Bogen got the Sprint distance victories in female and male category.

Female Classic distance Top3

1. Petra Eggenschwiler (SWI)                   3h02:20 
2. Yéssica Pérez (ESP)                                    3h06:11 
3. Sigrid Herndler (AUT)                   3h06:45

Male Classic distance Top6

1. Diego Van Looy (BEL) 2h39:41
2. Gael Le Bellec (FRA) 2h41:19
3. Michele Paonne (LIE) 2h41:52
4. Ben Price (GBR) 2h44:00
5. Denis Sketako (SLO) 2h45:22
6. Kasper Laumann (DEN) 2h45:30

* Diego Van Looy, Gael Le Bellec , Michele Paonne , Denis Sketako and Kasper Laumann will also be in Loutraki 24.03.2019 for Powerman Greece!

Register now http://www.powerman.org.gr/registrations/